2016 Awards Ceremony

Posted: May 18, 2016 at 8:27 pm, Last Updated: May 19, 2016 at 1:44 pm

On the morning of May 11, 2016, an awards ceremony honoring the top undergraduates and graduates was jointly held by the Department of Environmental Science and Policy, the School of Systems Biology, and the Department of Biology.  Faculty, awardees and their families, and staff were treated to a brunch before an opening statement by Dr. Larry Rockwood (Chair, Department of Biology) led the presentation of awards at 11:00am.  Below is the list of award recipients from the Department of Biology.

Department of Biology Awards

Biology Honors in the Major
Ushna Ahmad
Hijab Baig
Andrea M. Broad
Kathleen Gwilliam (Summer 2015)
Heather Hobbs
Iqra Kapadia
Mathew Newman
Samantha Poe
Daniel Spindel (Fall 2015)
Caroline Thomas
Caitlin Tucker (Fall 2015)

Mariann and Bruce Johnson Award
Leo Druker
Caroline Thomas

Faculty Award
Ushna Ahmad
Caroline Benzel
Kathleen Gwilliam
Rachel E. Smith

Senior Award
Andrea M. Broad
Haris Ghayur
Jennifer J. Jones

Melissa Stanley Medical Laboratory Science Award
Christine Denneny
Stephanie Weed

Elaine Joyce Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award
Naga Betrapally
Sarah Bui
Alicia Korol
Fei Yi

Biology Chair’s Award
Brenda Tondi, Ph.D.